0

The Newport City Inn & Suites along with the Derby Four Seasons Inn & Suites are the hub of many activities in Vermont’s Northeast Kingdom. The Newport area is blessed with the spectacular Lake Memphremagog, which extends beyond the northern border into Quebec. Newport’s colorful history is the subject of many books, including some authoritative works by local writer, Scott Wheeler of  Vermont’s Northland Journal.

Newport area historical landmarks and places to visit

St Mary’s Church might be one of the first local landmarks you see when coming into Newport. Prominently  located at the top of Prospect Street, the awe inspiring church commands a gorgeous view of Lake Mempremagog and Owl’s Head Mountain in Canada.

St._Mary's_Catholic_Church_NewportWikipedia states that the cornerstone for the building was laid on July 4, 1875, and the finished church, capable of seating 250, was blessed in 1877. The cost of the project, including grounds, was $6,135.37. The name, “Star of the Sea”, was chosen because the view of the lake seemed to coincide with a venerable church title for Mary, the mother of Jesus.

The Goodrich Memorial Library

The Goodrich Memorial Library is a public library in Newport, Orleans County, Vermont. It is the largest and only one of two full-time libraries in the county. The other being the Haskell Library and Opera House in Derby Line. It is located at 202 Main Street in downtown Newport, in a Romanesque style building constructed in 1899.

Goodrich_Memorial_Library
There are fireplaces inside the library fashioned of colored brick, rooms finished in red birch, Georgia pine, cypress, native spruce, Swanton red marble, with furnishings in quartered oak.

The upstairs hall of the library consists of an art room, decorated more or less in period style, a long hall for meetings, an office, and a reading room. There are several timeless paintings on display in the art room, and a display case of postcards and paraphernalia from Newport’s colorful history.

Discover the floor-to-ceiling wall of glass cases that house a variety of stuffed animals and natural curiosities. These include an alligator shot in Florida in the 1900s, an ostrich egg, and a flying squirrel found in Vermont. These artifacts were originally preserved with mercury, and can only be handled and cared for by trained professionals.

Eagle Point Wildlife Management Area

Eagle PointThanks to Michael Dun­n’s gen­er­ous do­na­tion of 457 acres on Ea­gle Point in Derby, a beautiful piece of land on Lake Memphremagog, will be available for the public to enjoy for many years to come. Mr. Dunn, who died in 2007, do­nated the land to the fed­eral gov­ern­ment as a stip­u­la­tion in his will.

The fact that Mr. Dunn sought to have the land pre­served, en­sures that the qual­ity of the ex­pe­ri­ence will re­main. The property consists of nearly a mile of lake shore habitat, numerous wetlands, large meadows, hemlock and mixed forest. It supports a great diversity of wildlife including aquatic mammals, waterfowl, grassland birds, and many other wetland and terrestrial species.

The Haskell Free Library and Opera House

Founded in 1901, the Haskell Free Library and Opera House in Derby Line, VT, supports the cultural needs of the community on both sides of the Canada-U.S. border, both English and French, through access to information, reading material, a broad range of library services and programming as well as the visual and performing arts.

Haskell_Free_Library_On_US-Canadian_Border

Straddling two countries…

The library collection and the opera stage are located in Stanstead, Quebec, but the main entrance and most opera seats are located in Derby Line. Because of this, the Haskell is sometimes called “the only library in the U.S.A. with no books” and “the only opera house in the U.S.A. with no stage”. There is no entrance from Canada, however there is an emergency exit on the Canadian side of the building. All patrons and visitors must use the US entrance to access the building. Patrons from Canada are permitted to enter the US door without needing to report to customs, providing they return to Canada immediately upon leaving the building.

The Old Stone House Museum

The Old Stone House Museum opened in 1925, as the museum of Orleans County history. The massive four story granite block building was constructed in 1836 to serve as the dormitory for the Orleans County Grammar School.

Old stone house museum

It was purchased in 1917 by the Orleans County Historical Society to save it from destruction by a building company,that planned on using the granite blocks for railroad bridges.

Discover exhibits of furniture, paintings, tools, textiles, folk art, and the stuff of everyday life, which tell the story of early Orleans County. Two barns display antique agricultural implements, boats, horse drawn transportation & maple sugaring equipment.

Summer is just around the corner! Get out and explore “the Kingdom”

These are just a few of the remarkable places to see and discover within a 30 minute radius of Newport, Vermont. There are many more such wondrous places to see but this should get you started with some of the best, local favorites! Book your lodging with us this summer at either of our locations, Newport City Inn & Suites or the Derby Four Seasons Inn & Suites.

Leave a Comment